Chicken Lo Mein

INgredients

Chicken Lo Mein1 lb chicken breast, cut into 1 inch cubes
6 cups chicken broth
2 tbsp red curry paste
1 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
3 medium carrots, peeled and sliced
3 green onions, chopped
2/3 cup frozen peas
1/2 cup mushrooms
1 – 2 leaves kale, torn
1 package lo mein noodles (12 oz)
1/4 cup chopped cashews (optional)

How to
  1. Add everything but lo mein noodles and chopped cashews to a large pot. Bring contents to a boil. The chicken is raw at this point…don’t worry it’ll cook to perfection!
  2. Boil covered for about 10 minutes. Uncover and simmer for 15 minutes, until some of the broth has absorbed.
  3. Add lo mein noodles and bring the pot back to a boil. Turn to medium heat, and cook until the broth is absorbed and the noodles are tender. Stir often so the noodles don’t stick together.
  4. Mix in chopped cashews, or serve on the side.
note

I love Chinese food and crave it way too often rely on ordering take out. This was my first attempt at lo mein, and I am happy to report that it was a success. This chicken lo mein was incredibly easy to make, and only required one pot making for very easy clean up! The curry paste gave it a very subtle heat, and the chopped cashews added just a touch of crunch. For vegetables I just used what I already had in my refrigerator. Like kale, which I’d never used before. The Husband actually got the kale for our tortoise, who wouldn’t touch it. I’m happy I threw it in because it added a great texture that I love! Happy cooking!

DIFFICULTY: ✦✦✧✧✧
Leave a Reply

