Salsa Chicken Casserole

salsa chicken casseroleIngredients

At least 2 large chicken breasts
1 can black beans
1 cup frozen corn (thawed)
1 cup uncooked rice
1 cup chicken broth
1 jar salsa
2 green onions (diced)
2 tsp oregano
2 tbsp chili powder
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

How-To
  1. Preheat the oven to 375° F.
  2. Add the dry rice, black beans (drained and rinsed), corn, salsa, chicken broth, chili powder, and oregano to an 8×8 inch casserole dish.  Stir until everything is evenly mixed together.
  3. Cut the chicken breasts into fist-sized pieces.  Push the chicken down into the rice/salsa mixture until they are as covered in the mixture as possible.  Cover with foil and bake for 1 hour.
  4. After an hour, test the rice with a fork to make sure it’s tender.  If it’s not, bake for another 10-ish minutes until the rice is tender.  Then sprinkle the cheese on the top, return to the oven until the cheese has melted, and then sprinkle the green onions on top.
Notes

I have to admit to being a little frazzled when I made this the other day.  Patrick was coming over for dinner, I had just walked in the door after sitting in rush hour traffic for an hour (part of it two miles from my house due to a lake-side concert), and all I wanted to do was lie down on the floor.  I compromised by pouring myself a glass of wine.

As a result of my traffic exhaustion, I didn’t even notice that the recipe called for chicken broth so I didn’t have any on hand.  I made makeshift chicken broth with some chicken bouillon, but it wasn’t enough so the dish turned out a bit dry.  And to top it off, I forgot to put the cheese on top and skipped the onions (I didn’t have any of those either).  Moral of the story: read the directions!!  Or: find an alternative rush hour route home.

Regardless, this meal was really good, and filling!  I found it on Budget Bytes (via Pinterest), and it really did turn out to be a fairly cheap, easy meal.  I may have encountered some difficulties, but I definitely encourage you to try it!

Difficulty ✦✦✦✧✧
2 thoughts on “Salsa Chicken Casserole

Leave a Reply

