Homemade Tomato Sauce

homemade tomato sauceIngredients

2 tbsp olive oil
1 onion
1 clove garlic
1 tbsp oregano
1 tbsp basil
1 can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup red wine
Salt & Pepper to taste

How-To
  1. Chop onions and garlic.  In a skillet over medium-high heat, saute the onions in the olive oil until they’re soft.
  2. Add the garlic, oregano, and basil.
  3. Add diced tomatoes and red wine.
  4. Simmer until hot.  If needs be, add water or more wine to make it saucier.
Notes

When I say “homemade” tomato sauce, I really mean homemade!  I wanted to make dinner and I had basically no groceries in the house besides noodles, so I called Patrick, who referred me on to his dad, who literally said, “Do you have an onion?  Do you have garlic?  Do you have spices?  Ok, here’s what you’re going to do.”  And this tomato sauce was born!  I wish I could just whip something together like that (maybe someday).  And the best part is that the sauce turned out really well!

Difficulty ✦✧✧✧✧
Leave a Reply

