Fruit Cups with Cinnamon Honey Whipped Cream

Fruit Cups with Cinnamon Honey Whipped Cream 1 INGREDIENTS

2 cups quartered strawberries
1 cup blueberries
1 cup raspberries
1 pint whipping cream
2 tsp cinnamon (or to taste)
1 tbsp honey (or to taste)

HOW TO
  1. Rinse all fruit, and slice the strawberries
  2. In a medium mixing bowl, use a hand mixture to beat the whipping cream until it starts to thicken
  3. Add the cinnamon and honey, and beat until the whipped cream is thick to your likingFruit Cups with Cinnamon Honey Whipped Cream 3
  4. Put the whipped cream in a large ziplock bag, and cut off a corner
  5. Squeeze whipped cream into the bottom of a short glass or small bowl, whatever you plan to serve the dessert in
  6. Add a layer of strawberries, more whipped cream, a layer of blueberries and raspberries mixed, more whipped cream, and top with remaining strawberries
NOTES

There is an important lesson that goes along with this post, and that lesson is:

When throwing a dinner party, be aware of any food allergies your guests may have.

Last weekend was my mother-in-law’s birthday, and as The Husband and I just moved into our first house this summer, we thought it would be nice to throw her a little dinner party with family at our place for a birthday present.

For dinner, I made a big green salad with goat cheese and balsamic, zuchinni noodles (zoodles!) with pesto and this delicious main dish. I knew I needed a special birthday dessert, and I wanted something on the healthier side, so I decided on delicious fruit with a little whipped cream.

I know my mother-in-law loves her fruits and veggies, and I decided adding whipped cream was dessert-y enough. The cinnamon and honey added into the whipped cream made this typical fruit cup a little special. I had enough fruit and whipped cream for 6 fruit cups, and they turned out beautiful!
Fruit Cups with Cinnamon Honey Whipped Cream 2
Now to get to my lesson of the day on food allergies… My father-in-law is allergic to strawberries. What?! Yes. It’s true. The Husband and I have been married for almost a year, and have been great friends since we were 16. I’ve spent a lot of time with his family. How on earth could I not have known this about his dad?

Luckily, my father-in-la is super laid back and simply picked out the strawberries. He’s apparently so laid back about it that The Husband didn’t think it was a big deal to serve a dessert that could cause his dad allergic reaction. Next time, I will ask my guests about food allergies. Lesson learned!

On a happier note, my mother-in-law loved this dessert! I have to agree that it was fantastic!

DIFFICULTY: ✦✧✧✧✧
Leave a Reply

